A new addition for Stella, a vintage air-camping tent!

Thinking ahead means I know in a few years Lowie will be too big for his hammock. I recently found a roof tent for an economic price and couldn’t resist buying it.. 🙂

The previous owner used it on the bed of his landy pick up and took good care of it.

I planned the delivery so when I went to Belgium a few weeks ago for the aircooled shows I picked it up and could finaly see what I bought. 😀

I initially looked for an “overcamp” as they come in light brown and are more neutral and even more period correct but the prices are often 3 X more expensive..

Anyway, excited when opening the tent as I’d never used one before and was well chuffed with the quality and condition 🙂
Exactly as the PO described it..

The ladder is attached to the opening half of the tent and acts as a “pull handle” to open the tent.

The tent has a built in mosquito-net which has velcro strips on the side to keep it in place.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tent has little “windows” on the side and they can be opened from the inside by using a string that goes around in a loop so when you pull it upwards from the inside the flap on the outside will go down.. cool feature!

It came with 4 brackets as well as the clamps, however I think the bars at the bottom of the tent are not the original ones but can’t confirm. It needs, however, a bit of work to make this fit on to my roof rack..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And once folded back with the cover over it looks like a big flat shoe box..

 

 

I hope to get the mounting bars sorted soon so I can fit it on the roof and have a full penthouse extension on the roof top 😀

Categories: Blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

